School Alerts
Home / About Us / Governance


Carrfield Primary Academy is part of the Astrea Academy Trust.


For further details on how Carrfield’s local governance fits into the wider Astrea governance arrangements, please follow the ‘Trust Governance’ link in the ‘About Us’ section above.


If you are interested in becoming a governor within the Astrea Academy Trust, please click here.


Meet the Transition Management Board

Mark Coppel

Mark Coppel (NLG and Chair)

Mark has worked in education since 2006 and is a National Leader of Governance (NLG) and is an experienced chair, trainer and consultant. He has worked with a number and variety of schools, including successfully chairing an Interim Executive Board (IEB) taking the school from ‘Special Measures’ to ‘Good’. He has experience of working with Local Authorities and Multi-Academy Trusts.

As a Governor, he believes in making School Improvement the focus of Governor activity and setting high expectations for the other Governors through example and discussion. He has a strong belief in a child centred approach. He currently works as a Governor trainer and consultant for the National Governance Association (NGA) and chairs a Local Governing Body and a number of transition boards. He also conducts External Reviews of Governance for maintained schools, Academies and MATs. In addition he delivers a number of governor training courses in Sheffield for a teaching school alliance and the local schools’ company.

His previous work included facilitating and evaluating Creative Partnerships projects in schools under the previous Labour government’s flagship creativity and culture programme for education.

Mr E Child

Eddie Child (Governor)

Eddie Child qualified as a secondary school teacher in 1999. He has taught at several schools and is now the Vice Principal at the Dearne ALC. He is experienced in making sure that students achieve the best results they can. As a Barnsley man himself, Eddie particularly enjoys seeing schools in the local area improve and give the best possible life chances to young people. He believes that, regardless of background, everybody has a huge capacity to succeed and deserves the best education possible to help. In his role as Vice Principal, Eddie works mainly in helping ensure that every student is pushed to be their best. This helps give them better choices as they leave education. As a governor at Carrfield Primary Academy, Eddie particularly enjoys seeing children working hard and achieving great outcomes. He is passionate about school improvement and is proud of the journey that the school is on, with the support of the Academy Trust.

Nic Law

Nicola Law (Astrea Leader of Safeguarding)

Nicola Law is the National Safeguarding Lead for Astrea Academy Trust, supporting the Transition Board as the Safeguarding representative. Nicola has worked for Astrea since September 2016 and has worked for two different Multi-Academy Trusts previously as a Safeguarding Advisor/Lead. Nicola has previous experience as a school-based Family Support Worker and has worked as a Young Carers Mental Health Project Manager also. Nicola is passionate about supporting children and their families. Nicola’s favourite thing about Carrfield Primary Academy is the children, observing how excited they are about their learning and the great relationships they have with staff.

Andrew Crossley (Principal)

Sue Brookes (Clerk)


Please click on the following link to view the Governors’ Declaration of Interests: Declaration of Interest Matrix

Please click on the following link to view details of governor attendance in 2016-2017: CPA Governor Attendance 2016-17

To see the TMB’s Terms of Reference, click here : TMB-Terms-of-Reference-latest-Nov-2017

To contact the chair of the transition management board, please email and title your email- ‘FAO Chair of Transition Management Board’.

Alternatively, you can put any correspondence in writing, marked similarly, and deliver it to school.